A database contains an organized collection of information that users can search in various ways. Library databases contain information such as:

• Articles from newspapers, magazines, peer-reviewed journals, and other sources
• Video and other media
• Reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries
• eBooks and online books

The J.D. McKean Library at ORU subscribes to over 190 databases full of articles, eBooks, videos, and other media. Many of the sources are peer-reviewed before publication or are evaluated for accuracy. Because library databases are organized by subject, title, author, publication, and material type, you can easily find the resources you need for your assignments and research.

Visit the library website homepage to find databases. From the homepage, select the Databases dropdown menu. If you know the name, you can type in a specific database or choose the Databases & Electronic Resources link to see an A-Z list of library databases.

You can access library databases both on- and off-campus. When off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Single Sign-On credentials. For more tips on logging in or troubleshooting, see our guide on accessing library resources from off-campus.

Databases by Subject – Some databases cover multiple subject areas. Other databases focus on a particular subject or discipline. You can use the “Choose a Subject” dropdown menu from the Databases page to view only databases on a specific subject, such as Theology & Ministry, Nursing, Business, and many more. 

Library Research Guides – ORU Librarians have created research guides on many topics, courses, and majors. Each guide has suggested databases for that discipline, often with search advice to help you get great results.

Video Tutorials:

• Database Tutorials
• Tutorials and Training Videos
• Using EagleSearch
• Finding Articles
• Finding Books and eBooks

Research Guides about finding articles, books, and ebooks

EagleSearch is like a search engine in that it searches the library catalog and many databases at once. EagleSearch can be a helpful place to start when searching for articles, books, or other materials the library offers. As you look at your search results in EagleSearch, you may notice that the articles come from a few particular databases. EagleSearch can provide clues about which databases to try searching for more results. You can access EagleSearch from the library website homepage. 

Articles you find in library databases are part of the library’s collection. The library pays for access to the journals and other sources that our students need for their coursework and research. Unlike an internet search, in the databases, you can specify peer-reviewed or scholarly sources to meet any assignment requirements provided by your professor. 

Google and Google Scholar can help find resources. However, you must carefully evaluate the information you find for reliability and bias.

Google is helpful for finding information from government agencies, universities, and non-profit organizations. Google Scholar can help you supplement your library database results. You can also configure your Google Scholar settings to link to articles in the library databases. Often, Google and Google Scholar will lead you to an article behind a paywall. If you find such an article, check the library databases to see if it is available. If you cannot find it, you can ask a librarian to help you find the article or similar resources.