Library Guides: GOV-201 Introduction to Political Science: Home

Library Databases & Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of Political Science by George Thomas Kurian (Editor); James E. Alt (Editor); Simone Chambers (Editor); Paula D. McClain (Editor); Geoffrey Garrett (Editor); Margaret Levi (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2010

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text of journals, reference books, and conference papers related to contemporary political discourse; subjects include international relations, law and legislation, political theory, non-governmental organizations, humanitarian issues.
More database information from EBSCO, including title lists.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of current issues related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
More database information from CQ Press.
Video tutorial: CQ Researcher Tour.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This database specializes in legal issues and documents. It contains statutes, academic articles, law reviews, case histories, political documents, legislative debates, international treaties and more over a wide variety of disciplines. There are many images and video segments as well.
Help with HeinOnline resources (includes training videos, searching tips, how to use the features in this database, etc).

US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Newspapers include Chicago Tribune (1996-present), Los Angeles Times (1996-present), New York Times (1980-present), New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine (1997-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and Washington Post (1987-present)
TIP: Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases. For additional searching help, click on "Search tips" above the search box on Advanced Search screen; also notice links for Thesaurus and Field codes specific to this database. (On the Basic Search screen, "Search tips" is located under the search box Enter button).
Advanced Search screen: Use for filtering by Company/Organization, looking up NAICS codes, selecting specific Document types, etc.

Primary Sources

USA.gov Government Agencies and Officials

TIPS FOR FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES

1. Consult the Contacts section of a report on CQ Researcher database.

CQ Researcher Veterans' Struggles Contacts

2. Use the Google search tool for searching within a web site or domain type.

Google site search tips

3. When reading articles, watch for references to primary sources.

Screenshot: article with lead to primary source

Citing Sources

The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Citing Sources with APA 7th Edition
This guide contains examples of citations according to APA 7th edition and links to helpful resources on the APA Style web site.
APA Style References
The APA website provides information and examples on citing sources using APA 7th edition.

Setting up Google Scholar to Show E-resources at Oral Roberts University Library

Step 1

Step 2

Click on Settings (1)

Step 3

Click on Library links (1).

Step 4

Type "Oral Roberts University Library" in the search box (1).

Check the box next to Oral Roberts University Library - E-resources@Oral Roberts (2).

Click Save (3).

Step 5

If we have the article in our databases,
the link E-resources@OralRoberts will appear (1).
You can click on that link to find the article.