Library Guides: How to Find Statistics and Data: Databases &amp; Websites

Databases with Statistics

To access ORU databases when you are off campus, includes distance learners, log in with your Single Sign-on (SSO) when prompted.
See: opens new windowHow to Access Library Resources from Off Campus

AtoZ International Business This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business guides covering business culture, business formation, investment climate, import process, export process, media outlets, advertising and marketing, language, currency, seaports, taxation, security, and much more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of current issues related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
More database information from CQPress.
Video tutorial: CQ Researcher Tour.
Data.Gov This link opens in a new window
Data.gov is managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Service; it follows the Project Open Data schema which defines required fields for every data set.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Features ethnographic collections organized by regions and cultures. Contains collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
Online Video User Guide
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Country guides with coverage including culture and society, travel, education, religion, history, holidays, language, music, maps, money including a currency converter, national symbols, flags and more.
ProCon.org This link opens in a new window
"Our Mission: Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by representing controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format." (Taken from "About Us" on website).
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Some topics covered include: Elections; National Security and Veterans Affairs; Science and Technology; Banking, Finance, and Insurance; Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings; Births, Deaths, Marriages, and Divorces, and many others.
More database information from ProQuest.
World Christian Database This link opens in a new window
Extensive data on: Christian denominations, thousands of ethnolinguistic people, major world religions, chronology of world Christianity from 1st century to present, population and evangelism in cities throughout the world.

Websites

opens new windowProCon.org
Pros and cons of controversial issues. Resources include primary source documents, statistical evidence, government research and documents, and more.
Check out opens new windowDebate Topics!
See: "opens new windowHow to Cite ProCon.org in Bibliographies."

opens new window RAND
Objective analysis and effective solutions. RAND is a nonprofit and nonpartisan "research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges...." Browse categories and topics, or opens new windowSearch a key term.
Example: opens new windowMining the Moon for Rocket Fuel to Get Us to Mars (Blog post)
Sample MLA citation content:

Li, Gary, et al. "Mining the Moon for Rocket Fuel to Get Us to Mars." Commentary from The Conversation, 16 Mary 2017. The RAND Blog, www.rand.org/blog/2017/05/mining-the-moon-for-rocket-fuel-to-get-us-to-mars.html.

For numbers, facts and trends shaping the world:

opens new windowUnited States Census Bureau: Index A-Z
Examples: "opens new windowPayday, Poverty, and Women"

opens new windowBLS Reports (Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Labor)
"BLS Reports provide analytical information related to the labor force, consumer spending, earnings, and work injuries and illnesses. Typically, reports contain a few pages of written analysis followed by statistical tables...."

opens new windowSpotlight on Statistics (Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Labor)
"Each edition of Spotlight on Statistics features graphics, maps, and brief written analysis to illustrate BLS data that examine the U.S. labor market and economy."

opens new windowPew Research Center
A "nonprofit, nonpartisan and nonadvocacy organization." Includes "public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research." Categories include "U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends."

opens new windowBarna Trends: Research
Barna is a private, non-partisan, for-profit organization conducting and analyzing primary research to understand cultural trends related to values, beliefs, attitudes and behaviors since 1984.