New Databases

The Library has 3 new databases that will help support the COTM academic programs. All three contain full-text books. They include:

Digital Karl Barth Library This link opens in a new window
A major online collection of Karl Barth's works provided by Princeton Theological Seminary and Theologischer Verlag Zurich; researchers can cross-search among all Barth's works. Results can be viewed, organized, and analyzed at an unprecedented
pace and precision.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion This link opens in a new window
"...Essays on critical topics and emerging issues in the study of religion, complementing hundreds of essays on Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and cross-cultural thematic studies."
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Christianity This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks cross-searchable by subject, author, religion, work. "Researchers can search across hundreds of fully-digitized documents to instantly compare how different theories, denominations, and cultural groups have intersected, differed, and influenced one another."
"A multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the first decade of the 21st century. This resource represents voices from Christianity, Judaism, and Islam featuring significant thinkers of history."

Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion

Content includes:

Content includes:

The entire corpus of Barth’s Gesamtausgabe, the definitive edition of Barth’s works in German in42 volumes of theological writings, lectures, letters, sermons, and interviews
Barth’s magnum opus, the 14-volume Kirchliche Dogmatik [Church Dogmatics] both in the original language and with the definitive English translation
Translations of numerous other important works by Barth

Content includes:

The writings of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, leading figure in the Protestant fight against Naziism, whose works are available for the first time together in both English and German
Nearly the complete works of Hans Urs Von Balthasar, including the series Theo-Drama, Theo-Logic, and Glory of the Lord: A Theological Aesthetics
Personal papers of Reinhold Niebuhr, which are available online nowhere else
Texts penned by Pope Benedict XVI (Joseph Ratzinger), including Church, Ecumenism and Politics: New Endeavors in Ecclesiology, and Truth and Tolerance: Christian Belief and World Religion
The writings of Rosemary Radford Ruether, noted American feminist theologian, author of Women and Redemption: A Theological History
Works from James Hal Cone, including A Black Theology of Liberation and God of the Oppressed
Writings of Peruvian theologian Gustavo Gutierrez, considered the father of liberation theology