Credo provides access to dozens of authoritative reference books in ebook format related to literature and language. Credo is an excellent source for background and biographical information, as well as information about literary theory, genres, and movements.

Literary Reference Center provides full-text plot summaries, articles/essays, biographies, book reviews, poems, short stories, and author interviews. This database is useful for background information, including biographies and plot summaries but the majority of the content is not considered scholarly.

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center provides information on thousands of poets and short story authors and their works across literary themes, forms, techniques, and movements; includes biographies, critical analyses, contextual essays, and explications of important works. It is useful for background information, but much of the content is not considered scholarly.

Bloom's Literature provides biographical information on authors, most studied works of literature, a Character index, featured videos, a Shakespeare Center, strategies for writing essays, resources on literary themes, poems, timelines, and well over 5,000 images.

Literary Encyclopedia is an authoritative and refereed work focused on literary and cultural history covering all of world literature.
Included are author biographies, scholarly descriptions of texts and critical essays.

Full-text content covering all aspects of the humanities including articles and critical reviews of literature, information on authors, literary movements, and genres.

EagleSearch can be used to search for books or articles. This video shows how to use it to find articles.

How to Use EagleSearch to Find Periodical Articles
opens new window
ORU Library2020 5:32

Google Scholar is a good tool for finding academic articles. If you are on campus when searching, you will see links to articles available through ORU.

If you want to search Google Scholar while off campus, follow the steps below to change the settings so that you will see links to ORU eresources. You will still need to opens new windowlog into off-campus access to use them.